First Best of the Best Award winner selected by Jay Leno and top motoring experts at Monterey Car Week

Carmel-by-the-Sea, California (17th August 2016) - In its inaugural year, The Peninsula Classics Best of the Best Award brought together six of the world’s finest automobiles from top concours events internationally, to compete for the title of the most exceptional car in the world. The winning automobile was selected after being reviewed by 24 preeminent motorcar experts, designers and notable celebrities in the motoring world - including Jay Leno, Ralph Lauren, Nick Mason (Pink Floyd) and Henry Ford III.

In a pinnacle moment during the esteemed Monterey Car Week, the 1937 Talbot-Lago T150-C SS, Chassis No. 90106 Coupé aérodynamique ‘Goutte d’Eau’, Figoni & Falaschi owned by Peter and Merle Mullin and The Peter Mullin Automotive Museum Foundation was named winner of the prestigious The Peninsula Classics Best of the Best Award.

The Hon. Sir Michael Kadoorie, Chairman of The Hongkong and Shanghai Hotels, Limited, and parent company of The Peninsula Hotels, together with award co-founders Christian Philippsen, William E. “Chip” Connor and Bruce Meyer, created the Best of The Best Award in the spirit of celebrating the best of what defines the automotive world for the year.


For more information please contact: lorenza.frigerio@tvcgroup.com